

Nautical Institute 2023 AGM Minutes			
Date: 27.07.23	Meeting Opened: 1830 Venue: The Cellar, Brisbane Club		
Meeting called by	Branch Chairman, Mike Lutze		
Type of meeting	Annual General Meeting		
Minute Taker	Peter Murday		
Attendees	Mike Lutze, Peter Murday, Chris Thompson, John Watkinson, Steve Pelecanos, Ritesh Chawla, Gerrit Hulsebos, The Hon Justice S. C. Derrington, Chamila Wijesekera, Harry Hirst		
Apologies	Edgar Gold, Michael Bender, Thomas Smith, Peter Liley, William Burton, Richard Johnson		

AGENDA Item No. 1

Confirmation of minutes of last Annual General Meeting 2021

Minutes of the 2022 AGM held 29 September 2022 confirmed and accepted.

Proposed: Chris Thompson Seconded: John Watkinson

Action Items	Person Responsible	Due Date
Nil		
AGENDA Item No. 2		

Chairman's Report

The Chairman's report was submitted and noted. Captain Mike Lutze welcomed all those in attendance. In his report he noted the success of the Technical Meeting held on 16 May 2023 at Smartship Australia and thanked Capt. Peter Listrup for the use of the facility for this event. Thirty-two persons in attendance. Three excellent papers were presented, and these presentations were made available online to the members. The Chairman also thanked Marine Cargo Care for their sponsorship of the Technical Meeting by providing the lunch. World Maritime Day was mentioned – planned for 24 October 2023 – it is proposed that a "hypothetical" response to an oil/chemical spill in the GBRMP be conducted. Mention made of the Member Survey conducted and the disappointing response. For further discussion by the Committee a proposal that executive positions be rotated every two years. In closing he thanked the Secretary and Treasurer and Committee members Ritesh Chawla, John Watkinson and Steve Pelecanos for their ongoing support and assistance. In closing he expressed his disappointment that there were no new nominations for the Committee. He then commended his Report to the Committee.

Proposed: Sarah Derrington Seconded: Steve Pelecanos

Action Items	Person Responsible	Due Date
Nil		



AGENDA Item No. 3

Treasurer's Report

In summary the Branch's balance stands at \$4447.48 as at the 05 July 2023. It was noted that the NIQ made a small profit this year of \$208.25 primarily due to a surplus from last year's AGM dinner and sponsorship covering the costs of the Technical Meeting. Treasurer's Report was submitted and accepted.

Proposed: Steve Pelecanos Seconded: Ritesh Chawla

Action Items	Person Responsible	Due Date
Nil		

AGENDA Item No. 4

Secretary's Report

Secretary's Report was presented and noted. As of the 27 July 2023 the Queensland Branch currently has 170 financial members. During the previous 12 months the Branch welcomed 8 new members with one member transferring to another Branch. A record of correspondence in/out for the period was also provided in the Secretary's Report for the benefit of the Members. A summary of the feedback from the Member Engagement survey was provided to the committee along with suggestions put forward.

Proposed: John Watkinson Seconded: Gerrit Hulsebos

Action Items	Person Responsible	Due Date
Nil		
AGENDA Item No. 5		
Webmaster's Report		
No Report presented as the branch has no Webmaster. The Treasurer informed the		

meeting that the annual fee for hosting the website - \$24.75 - has been paid.

Action Items	Person Responsible	Due Date
Nil		

AGENDA Item No. 6

Election of Office Bearers

The Chairman declared all Executive positions vacant and then vacated the Chair. Capt. S. Pelecanos took the Chair and called for nominations for all positions. No nominations were received prior to the AGM. Capt. Ritesh Chawla was nominated for the position of Chairman and accepted. All in favor. Capt. Gerrit Huslebos was nominated for the position of Treasurer and accepted. All in favor. After the positions were filled Capt. Steve Pelecanos moved a Vote of Thanks to the outgoing Chairman – Capt. Mike Lutze and long serving Treasurer Capt. Chris Thompson.



Г

Chairman	Captain Ritesh Chawla	Nominated: Steve Pelecanos
	(elected)	Seconded: Sarah Derrington
Honorary Secretary	Captain Peter Murday	Nominated: Steve Pelecanos
	(continuing)	Seconded: John Watkinson
Treasurer	Captain Gerrit Hulsebos	Nominated: Harry Hirst
rieasulei	(elected)	Seconded: John Watkinson
Committee Members	Captain Steve Pelecanos	Nominated: Ritesh Chawla
Committee Members	(continuing)	Seconded: Peter Murday
	Captain Michael Bender	Nominated: Ritesh Chawla
	(continuing)	Seconded: Peter Murday
	Captain John Watkinson	Nominated: Ritesh Chawla
	(continuing)	Seconded: Peter Murday
	Captain Peter Listrup	Nominated: Ritesh Chawla
	(continuing)	Seconded: Peter Murday
	Captain Peter Liley	Nominated: Ritesh Chawla
	(continuing)	Seconded: Peter Murday
	Captain Chamila	Nominated: Steve Pelecanos
	Wijesekera (new)	Seconded: Peter Murday
	Capt. Harry Hirst	Nominated: Ritesh Chawla
	(new)	Seconded: Peter Murday
	Capt. Mike Lutze	Nominated: Ritesh Chawla
	(new)	Seconded: Peter Murday
	Captain Chris Thompson	Nominated: Ritesh Chawla
	(new)	Seconded: Peter Murday

The above nominations were unanimously accepted.

AGENDA Item No. 7

Other Business

• Information that the Federal Court will be running an Admiralty Marshalls Course on 31 October 2023: The Hon. Justice Sarah Derrington AM, FAAL, brought this to the attention of the meeting and said any Member interested in attending to contact her directly.



Date for next Committee Meeting: No date fixed. End of August 2023 was to be			
looked at closer to the day. This committee meeting was to plan for the World			
Maritime Day Symposium.			
Action Items	Person Responsible	Due Date	
Nil.			

Meeting closed: 1910hrs

Signed as this being a true and complete account of the 2023 AGM:

Capt. Ritesh Chawla Chairman elect

Capt. Peter Murday Honorary Secretary

Capt. Chris Thompson Treasurer - outgoing